GUEST ARTIST SHARON BRONZAN

I met Sharon many years ago.  I loved her art then and I love it even more now.  A mutual friend described Sharon’s work as “tender and delicious.”  I find the images to be bold, but delicate.  I’m sure you will have your own words to describe her beautiful work.



SHARON’S EDUCATION

1972 M.S., Art Education, University of Oregon, Eugene, Oregon

1965-66  Graduate Studies, Painting and Drawing, San Jose State University, San Jose, California

1965 B.S., Painting and Drawing, University of Oregon, Eugene, Oregon



SHARON’S TEACHING EXPERIENCE

2003  She was the instructor for Painting the Narrative at the Sitka Center for Art and Ecology.

1973-1999 Sharon was a full-time painting and drawing instructor in the Department of Visual and Performing Arts, Portland Community College, Sylvania Campus, Portland, Oregon for 27 years.                                                                                           



SHARON’S WORDS

I paint solitary figures influenced by my deep interest in world folk art.  In each of my paintings, I have tried to create an open-ended narrative derived from reality and fantasy while incorporating symbols from myths and folklore.  Perhaps one of my greatest influences has been Magic Realism, the genre in literature and art that refers to magical elements or illogical scenarios appearing in otherwise “normal” settings.

I grew up in San Jose, California.  My parents moved to the Santa Clara Valley in 1945.  Both of my parents were first-generation Americans.  I was fortunate in that I was not only raised in a culturally rich community, but I was also exposed to the stories and customs shared by both sides of my family.

In 1961 I left the Bay Area to go to school at the University of Oregon.  After receiving a Masters degree I moved to Portland, Oregon, where I taught painting and drawing at Portland Community College for 27 years.  During that time I continued to make art.

I live with my husband and English Springer Spaniel, Frida, in Portland, Oregon.  Most of my days are spent in my home studio where I paint my stories.  I discovered gouache paint several years ago and find it works best for me and my images.  The colors are rich and beautiful, it is water-soluble and relatively non-toxic.



SHARON’S EXHIBITIONS, PUBLISHED ILLUSTRATIONS, AND PUBLICATIONS

Too numerous to list individually, but I will tell you that she has had 15 solo exhibits, 5 honors, 23 pieces in publications, and 10 pieces in public collections.  



 

 

 

FIREBREATHER                                      THE LACE DRESS                                PERFECT BALANCE

 

 

REFUGE                                                   BRAVEHEART                                          DAY DREAM

   

 

 

GHOST WOLVES/MAGIC VEST       JUST WHAT I ALWAYS WANTED       SUNSEEKER

   

 

 

TORO TANGO                                       BEACON                                                   WAS THIS ALL A DREAM?

   



 

If you love her work as much as I do, please let Sharon know in the comments below.

 


5 thoughts on “GUEST ARTIST SHARON BRONZAN

  1. Ooooooo Sharon! Thank you for your beautiful imagination and incredible skills to render such beauty for us to see with our hungry eyes! Your paintings and imagery are delectable!

    Like

  2. These are really stunning, Sharon! I recenlty had a dream about a big, beautiful lion with a full mane. He was very protective and I’ve been invoking him. Of course when I saw your lion painting with the woman nestled at his side it was so moved. Thank you for showing your work! May you stay safe and well, Pyllis

    Like

Leave a comment